Skip to content

So here goes nothin’

April 30, 2010

So…even the decision to crank up this blog has been kind of a struggle for me. Don’t get me wrong – We’ve both always enjoyed writing and without actually sharing the notion with one another, we’d actually both thought and prayed about starting a blog a few times before. So when Ingrid told me that she was going to take the plunge and start down this road…my response was…”Oh well, yeah I was thinking about doing that too…” (I’m sure I sounded very genuine…very…)

Then came the idea that maybe we should start a blog together. Good idea!!! I think… I mean, I’m all about sharing life together and building a blog where both of us contribute. I’m excited to think about how God might use our words and stories to strengthen our own lives and that of others. But with all of that good comes the other side of the coin.

What will people think?    —   I know it’s not something I ought to care about but it’s something that I’m worried about. So here’s the first try at throwing my heart out there for all of you to see.  There’s that sense of vulnerability that I’m sure so many of us have experienced in a handful of instances to one degree or another; a vulnerability that  is really wonderful and kind of freaky. As Ingrid and I have talked more about this blog, I’ve realized that my apprehensions about starting this blog is exactly why I think we need to do it.  And even as I write this I realize that the apprehensions I feel are truly because of my worry that I”ll say something wrong. But I also realize that true obedience to God comes not just from listening to His promptings and following His lead; but by trusting Him to protect and work through hearts that are ransomed to Him  — despite our imperfections and all the junk that we allow to muck up the extravagant simplicity of His love for us. In any event…here goes nothin’.

Share

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 10:21 pm

    yeah… Blogging is rather exposing. Well. Depending on what you say. And how much you say! 🙂

    Welcome to the blogosphere, Joel & Ingrid!

  2. May 15, 2010 6:14 pm

    i think it is very cool that y’all are blogging together!

    • May 15, 2010 9:50 pm

      Thanks sooo much for comin’ around to our little blog. We’re so blessed that folks are reading it so much already. Look forward to chatting with you more in the future and by the way — really enjoying catching up on your blog as well (http://jennyrain.com/)!!! God bless and can’t wait to hear from you again!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention So here goes nothin’ « Life with Jding -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

