Skip to content

Come Rest With Me

May 2, 2010

My daughter doesn’t like to take naps.  She is 3 1/2 and the task of lying down everyday to recharge her battery sometimes proves to be too much for her.  My son, who just turned 5 is a sleeper – he loves a good nap.  Now, I know that kids outgrow naps, but it seems mine have done it in the reverse order and the bottom line is… I’m spoiled.  Afternoon nap has been a part of my daily routine for five years.  It’s my precious time to get things done around the house or, more likely, do what I want to do.

My daughter has started spending less time sleeping and more time working hard to waste the nap time away.  On any given day she can be found doing a myriad of things during nap time – everything from headstands to covering things with stickers to playing in her closet – and yes, all of it is accomplished by the dim light of her night-light.

Today was one of those days that she didn’t want to sleep.  My son fell asleep as soon as his head hit the pillow,  Joel and I promptly turned to important “work” on our laptops and my sweet Bee, well, she started her fight against sleep.  She came out of her room to throw out a sticker (some “gawbage”), came out to go poo, came out because she had an itch on her head that needed to be scratched, came out because she had to go pee – and in between these appearances, a random but consistent thump could be heard coming from her room as she practiced her hand stands.  It’s the weekend so I let Joel handle it (he is amazing like that) and I started to shrink with shame as I listened to him… ’cause he sounded like I do all the time.  “I’m sick of getting up,” “she’s driving me nuts”, and the list goes on (mind you, he’s the more patient one of this dynamic duo).  I was painfully reminded of how I often lack grace in my discipline and that I sometimes need to just stop, step back, and see what is really going on to get the Bee so worked up.

As the struggle between my girl and her dad continued, I retreated to bed for my own nap only to be woken up by her crying as she got in trouble for being disobedient yet again.  Now don’t get me wrong, I was frustrated too at this point, but something told me to just go rest with her.  I snuck into her room and hushed her as she met me with a ton ‘o (loud) questions and climbed under the covers to snuggle her.  She started to go on and on about how she doesn’t like to take a nap and can’t sleep and doesn’t like trying to rest her eyes and the frantic list went on as it grew in volume.  I hushed her again and told her to come rest on me.  She promptly climbed up on my chest and, I kid you not, within a couple of minutes was fast asleep!

I never imagined that she would fall asleep. I was just hoping to quite her long enough that we could call it good and officially end nap time.  As I lay there, shocked by the sound of her sleeping peacefully on my chest, I could hear God saying, “she’s just like you sometimes”.  You see, I also don’t like to be alone and will fill that alone time with all sorts of things in order to make the time pass more quickly – rather than just resting in Him.  I will watch mindless TV, snack on food I’m not hungry for, waste endless time on the computer – the list goes on, but when I finally give in and just rest in my Heavenly Dad, oh my goodness, my heart is filled! All the stress and hurt from a day are forgotten as I crawl up on His chest and let my breathing sync up with His and in those moments… my heart is calmed by His love,  my insecurities are lost in His unchanging ways and I am lulled into sweet and refreshing rest.

At some point, when I knew my little girl was sleeping peacefully and that she couldn’t fight the zzzz’s  if she wanted to, I set her back on her pillow anxious to see what adventures would come from girl who had taken time out of her busy day to get some quality sleep.  I can’t help but wonder if after I’ve found rest in Him, does He sit back and wonder the same about me?

-Ingrid

Share

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Maegan permalink
    May 3, 2010 2:13 pm

    Wow Ingrid-this really hit home for me! How often do I find myself doing “stuff” just to keep from having quiet time! You’ve inspired me to cuddle up with my real Father and just be quiet! Love you girl!-Maegan

    • May 3, 2010 9:04 pm

      Yep – isn’t it amazing how He’ll use our kids to get things through to us? Hope you two have a good cuddle 🙂 Love you too!

  2. Herbert permalink
    May 3, 2010 2:13 pm

    Good read Ingrid.. Good read!!

  3. Stacey permalink
    May 14, 2010 1:16 pm

    that was beautiful! Thanks! 🙂

    • May 14, 2010 2:40 pm

      You’re welcome! I miss laughing with you. Gonna have to dig out the video of us laughing while smushed in the back of the SUV…

  4. Stacey permalink
    May 14, 2010 11:04 pm

    You need to post it!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Come Rest With Me « Life with Jding -- Topsy.com
  2. Did she say, “P”…Pee”??? a drink w/ Jam & Bread? « Life with Jding

Leave a Reply

