Skip to content

Dear God, Thanks for…”friendship”

May 13, 2010

So I’ve been reading some older posts by a few of our favorite bloggers, Mandy Thompson and Alece Rozino from Grit & Glory. Seeing as how I’m still a tad  bit new to this whole blogosphere, I’d never seen the “When Worlds Collide” video and some of the others that these friends have made over the past few years. All I can say is — They are so genuine and HILARIOUS, and did I mention genuine? They’re real.

Ingrid and I both are blessed to have friends like this too; the kinds that just occur; the “kindred spirits” kind, if that makes sense; the kind that Ingrid would say, “You can pee your pants with because you’re laughing so hard together” (that seems to happen more with girls than guys I think — the peeing your pants, I mean). Anyway, I just wanted to give a shout out to both Mandy and Alece — both whom I’m never met (and I’m obviously a bit late to the party since some of those videos are over two years old…but hey, I showed up right?) but who’s stories, writings, songs and wacky video banter just got me thinking about how much of an incredible blessing friendship is; how it’s truly a gift from God.

All of that said, I’ve been thinking about people who have come into my life over the years and how some have become friends for a season, for a lifetime, or simply passed through under very specific circumstances and then gone on their way; which is absolutely not a bad thing. We’ve also started to make great friends through internet social networking, reading blogs and now through our own site – and yes , just cause we’ve not met some of these people, we can definitely still call them friends because we’ve chosen to share our hearts, our stories and our trust.  Also just want to mention that I don’t think I have to be best friends with everyone and no, I haven’t forgotten what Matthew 22:39 tells me about loving my neighbor as myself. You can still be obedient to this scriptural direction without making everyone your BFF. I don’t think one has anything to do with the other…but I’m getting off track (big surprise huh?!?)…

What I really wanted to say in this post is simply that friendship is amazing and wonderful, a blessing, adventuresome and sometimes, heart-breaking and yet, absolutely needed — at least it is for me. I imagine I’ll get more into this sometime in the future of this blog’s existence. For now though, the heart of what I want to say is —

Thanks God for my friends…ALL of them…no matter the closeness…geographical separation between me and them…no matter the friendship’s timespan.

God continues to show me his love of relationship and His desire for me to be able to express my heart to Him in every circumstance; loving, hang-on to, hang out with, asking advice of, crying out to, yelling at, holding on to, adventuring with.

There’s probably so much more I could say about this and maybe will in the future but I think for now, I’ll wrap up with this thought.

Because we’re made in His image, we can’t help but desire relationship, one of the most prominent of which is friendship. Don’t get me wrong, I know things can get messy and that some friendships end for good reasons. But more and more, it’s clear to me that life would be less exciting and less…well that’s it isn’t it?…Life would be less without friends.

Share

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2010 9:02 pm

    Welcome to the party!!

  2. Kevin Daharsh permalink
    May 13, 2010 9:03 pm

    Just got home from P&W practice,was a funny time trying to keep composure with your lovely bride texting. I trully enjoy the fellowship with you and Ingy. God seems to somehow give you guys clues when I am needing some encouragement or just plain ole listening.I just have to say THANKS for being a TRUE friend Love you guys

    • May 13, 2010 9:58 pm

      Thanks brother! You and Lori are such a blesing in our life. We love you! Now…more importantly — when’s the next Frisco’s Run?

    • May 14, 2010 2:44 pm

      “He’s texting back there!” Can I just say I about peed my pants when I first heard you honk that horn?! I might just have to rock a side pony tail on Sunday in honor of that practice. Thanks for making it fly by…

  3. Gary permalink
    May 14, 2010 8:49 am

    I have my own thoughts on friends, however, I will pick at others thoughts for shortness for now.

    “Friendship is the greatest of worldly goods. Certainly to me it is the chief happiness of life.” C.S. Lewis

    “It is one of the blessings of (old) friends that you can afford to be stupid with them.”
    Ralph Waldo Emerson

    Friends possibly may come and go, however, even those that may seem to be gone leave something etched in granite. A footprint in our heart. Why granite? Because if in sand it will soon be washed away. Friends may go their separate ways but they are both better people because they traveled the same path, even if just for a mile or two. (My thought)

    Friends hear you, even when you do not speak, laugh when you laugh, hurt when you hurt, will quietly sit and listen, will help you through the maze, allow us to express our faith when it bursts from us, sooths our doubts when they overwhelm us, inspire confidence, see no shortcoming, try to understand when others critique, take time if even not convient, offer discreetness and the list goes on and on…………. (My thoughts)

    “Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work: If one falls down, his friend can pick him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up! ….Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.”
    Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

    My friend, thanks for you and your family being a strand…..

    Gary

    • May 14, 2010 9:05 am

      Gary – love that verse from Ecclesiastes. Thanks for that. Did my heart good this morning! Also really like that C.S. Lewis quote too. Thanks so much for sharing your heart my friend. It really means the world to us!

      -Joel

  4. Stacey permalink
    May 14, 2010 12:45 pm

    Thanks for inviting me to your blog! 🙂 Thanks for the wonderful friendship you both give to me! I have no inspirational words to add, but it would be great to have a good ‘pee your pants’ session soon! Love you guys!

  5. May 15, 2010 10:42 am

    so glad you decided to drink the kool-aid! 😉

    the friendships i’ve built through blogging still make me shake my head in amazement… God’s good to me, that’s for sure.

  6. May 15, 2010 12:50 pm

    Thank you so much for commenting, Alece. It’s such a blessing to have people like you not only reading our blog but being the Godly influences and blessings that sort of nudged us toward crankin’ up this blog for all to see! God bless your heart and your ministry too!!!

  7. Darla permalink
    May 28, 2010 8:50 pm

    I am truly blessed to have you and Ingrid as friends. Thanks for always being there for me. I love you guys and miss you!

Leave a Reply

