Skip to content

A Divine Silence

May 14, 2010

A few weeks ago, Joel called my cell phone on his way home from work and although I could hear him, he couldn’t hear me.  I figured it was just a connection fluke but nope, my phone was broken (or turned into the husband dream phone as I now like to call it – he talks, I listen).  My first response was to run out and get a new phone but life has felt busy lately and days have turned into weeks and still, I haven’t traded in  my “broken” phone – I’ve grown to love it.

I was never attached to a cell phone until Joel deployed.  He went overseas long before regular communication was even a consideration so I carried our cell phone with us just in case he somehow convinced a reporter to let him use a satellite phone.  I only heard from him a few times but carried the phone with me religiously, for many months – just.in.case.

Fast forward a bunch of years and there have been all sorts of other little (and big) emergencies that have kept my phone always within reach.  My phone has interrupted numerous meals, fun family times, naps etc. and this break from it has been dreamy.  Now, I know,  I always have the option to not answer it but just trust me when I say there has been a lot going on lately that has made answering the phone a seemingly necessary priority.

Having my phone now so I can only listen and text means that I am more thoughtful in my responses and my words don’t get me in trouble nearly as often. I listen to voice mails and actually think before I return the call rather than just spew off an answer.  Our home phone is often lost in the depths of a toy box with the ringer off so returning phone calls is done in bulk when time permits rather than peppered phone calls throughout the day.  And text messages allow me to attend to anything that needs a quick response – I’m telling you, it’s lovely!

But by far, the greatest benefit to my bum phone is that I’m turning to my heavenly Dad (instead of friends) for advice.  ‘Cause I don’t have to hunt for our home phone to chat with Him or pull over the car to quickly send Him a text.  And as things this week have been a bit heavier than I would have predicted, I can’t help but think that this is a Divine Silence.  I’m more deliberate in choosing who I’m sharing my struggles with – and when I finally do, they’ve been full of encouragement from Him and not just in for the gossip.  And as I share with my hearts friends,  it has filled and calmed my heart beyond what any hastily made call could do.

Eventually, I’ll get a new phone.  For now, I’m going to take this divine silence as a chance for me to relearn the importance of resting in Him and putting conversations with Him above all else.

~~Ingrid

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Midge permalink
    May 14, 2010 10:32 am

    Wonderful sentiment and beautifully conveyed.
    Love,
    midge

    • May 14, 2010 2:37 pm

      Thanks Midge! I miss you – when are we all going to hang out? You name it, we’ll be there!!

  2. Sarah Covey permalink
    May 14, 2010 3:44 pm

    In that case, I’l look foward to not hearing from you! Wonderful post!

  3. Kevin Daharsh permalink
    May 14, 2010 5:39 pm

    Very nice really like the pic from Haite also…Kev

  4. May 14, 2010 8:05 pm

    This reminds me that I need to make an effort to create divine silence in my own life – silence from the Internet…. I recently found a program called “Concentration” that will greatly help me achieve this silence.

  5. Megan permalink
    May 17, 2010 4:43 pm

    I think this is what I love so much about Haiti. When I look back, I wasn’t worried about the texts or the phone calls I missed. I knew I was on a mission and for whatever reason, I just did. I didn’t have to think about where I needed to be or who was waiting for me to reply. It is just peaceful!

    Love the blog you two. Blessed by your friendship!

    Megs

    • May 17, 2010 6:07 pm

      And we are blessed by your friendship. Love you too!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention A Divine Silence « Life with Jding -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

