Skip to content

What’s Next???

May 24, 2010

Sometimes I really feel stuck. I think that’s the best way to start as I unpack this whole string of thoughts.

We are so absolutely blessed by the job that we have, by our beautiful home, by friends who support us and who love the Lord alongside us, the list goes on! I think I have to write that up front because I want to fend off the pity party, woe-is-me sound that this post has the potential to adopt. So once again, We Are Blessed beyond every storybook narrative I could have possibly conjured up in my mind. But I’ve got to throw this out there more because I want…I need to hear what the wonderful few of you might say about what these thoughts.

My dream is simply to write, sing, produce music for the Church; for God’s people to lift those songs in honor and praise to Him. That’s it. And I believe I’ve been doing that through songwriting, through collaboration with other musicians and songwriters. I love it! It makes me come alive. I guess what I’m wondering is, when do we turn the corner? Or, do we turn the corner? What’s the next step? Wow…it kind of sounds like I’m not sure what I’m asking, huh?

I really feel like I need vectoring; better yet – MENTORING. There are a few folks I follow on Twitter that I always catch myself saying, “I would love to work under this person; learn from this person; create music with them!” But how do you go about even starting down that road? I think I’m scared to take “that leap” (let’s be clear that I’m unsure exactly what “that leap” actually is. I just know that writing music, makes me come alive to a point where, I’d give up our really nice house, the great salary…the stuff; all in the name of doing it full-time…and quite frankly, that scares the crap out of me. How would we make ends meet? Where would we move? Would we move? Do I need to go get an advanced degree in Worship Studies or Music SomethingOrOther? Am I chasing something that’s not worth chasing?

Everyone that I’ve talked to tells me something to the effect of,

“Well, the music business…even the Christian music business is tough to break into. You need to be writing songs that first portray your heart to the Lord — and second of all, write songs for your church; God’s people, to sing to Him”

I’m doing that…but it’s seriously not my first priority. Don’t get me wrong, I’d love for songs that I write to serve as seeds in bringing people worldwide to know Jesus’ love for them. But most of all, I love that process, the initial spark of a song idea, the shaping, the research, the collaborating, the rewrites. Now granted, I’m not on staff as a worship leader so it’s a bit tough to get some of those songs heard, learned or worked into the Sunday Setlists, but I’m working on that.

Bottom line, I want to make this part of my life, which is absolutely core to the way in which I know God created me, more core and central to my daily life than it is currently. Make sense? Sound stupid? This bit of messiness is thrown out simply to say, I feel like I’ve been in a stage of preparation for a while now…for what exactly, I’m uncertain. Just trying to be obedient to Him and continue to pursue the dreams He’s put on my heart.

Whatchya think?

Share

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Darla permalink
    May 28, 2010 8:43 pm

    I think you should go for it, Joel. Follow your heart. That’s always much easier said than done, but I have no doubt you can be successful at anything you set out to do, especially something you have such a passion for. You have an amazing family to support you, and I think the rest of the world would be inspired by your work.

    • May 29, 2010 10:05 am

      Thanks Darla! I think the rest of the world would be inspired by your wherever you choose to write or whatever you choose to write about! Love you!

Leave a Reply

