Skip to content

The Yarn Knot

June 10, 2010

So, I’ve been putting the post-apocalyptic skills that my Crochet Sensei taught me to good work – crocheting like it’s my job!  I’m currently working on two afghan and a scarf and everything has been going smoothly until two nights ago.  I was on the couch, crochet needle flying as I worked on my dreamy and soon to be huge afghan when all of the sudden, I felt my yarn get caught.  I’ve had knots in my yarn before and usually a little gentle maneuvering will get it out but this was different.  I had probably 1/4 of the (pound) skein left and the more I tugged and tried to manipulate it out, the messier the knot got.  And then, I did the unthinkable, instead of just trying to work the knot out, I dug out the other end of the yarn and tried to just work it out that way – twisting, turning and bringing it through loops and tunnels that I thought surely would undo the mess.  It only made it worse – much worse!  And I was so frustrated with the whole thing!  I was all sorts of snippy at Joel and the kids as I sat there trying to work it out… for many hours!

As Joel was putting the kids to bed and I was silently cussing the knot of the ages, I heard him teaching the kids their scripture verses.  Listening to them learn scripture distracted me from trying to change the yarn myself and I went back to just following the natural path of the yarn.  After all, not long before it had a clear path on the skein and was unwinding just as it should.

I got most of the knot out that night but not all of it.  I had made a mess.  I returned to it yesterday and untangled the last part realizing that my attempt to manipulate the knot rather than just patiently find my way out of it had really created the mother of all knots and done me no good.  And then, that spiritual light bulb over my head lit up – isn’t that what I’m fighting against right now?

While I wait on direction for the next steps on the path God has set before me, the tendency is to try to manipulate things to speed up the process or to help Him choose something that will be the seemingly easiest fit.  Yep, I admitted it.  I am trying to recover from the thinking that He needs my help in all this. Gah!

And just as the path that the yarn takes on it’s way out of the skein and into my afghan may not seem the most obvious to follow, it somehow always works.  Well, almost always.  When it gets caught in what appears to be a knot, it’s really just a tangle that with some patience and perseverance can be gotten through without making a big mess.

I’m learning a lot from my yarn.  I’m learning to be patient – although it might not seem that way yet, Joel!.  I’m learning persistence – ’cause there is a LOT of yarn in that back room waiting to make its way into my afghan!  I’m learning to stop, take a step back and look at the bigger picture ’cause if I messed up three long rows back, it all has to be pulled out so it can be re-done correctly and  it is so much easier to take a peek at the whole thing sooner rather than later.  I’m learning to be still – because as much as it looks like I’m really busy as I crochet, the action is repetitive which gives me a chance to think, pray and most importantly listen.

And here I thought I was just making an afghan…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 11:48 am

    Uh. Great post. But….
    You sound old. Sorry.

    • June 10, 2010 12:16 pm

      I am old-ish! Don’t hate on my post-apocalyptic skills 🙂

  2. June 12, 2010 8:18 am

    I’ve worked my way through so many yarn-knots with my mom’s projects – and never thought as deeply about it as what you have put here. 🙂 Good luck with the afghan… Great post!

    • June 12, 2010 8:26 pm

      Thanks! And thanks for putting me on your Saturday Sevens!!!
      It was a really big knot so after awhile, I no choice but to do some deep thinkin’ 🙂
      -I

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The Yarn Knot « Life with Jding -- Topsy.com
  2. Saturday Sevens: Memory week…
  3. Fun knitting links and patterns – July 2010 | Just casting on...

Leave a Reply

