Skip to content

I Love Lucy

June 16, 2010

This past weekend, we were able to spend some time with a good friend that I’ll call Lucy.

I took lots ‘o pictures, but Lucy likes to protect her privacy (thus the whole Lucy thing) so I’ll keep ’em to myself.

Here is the thing about Lucy – I haven’t known her for very long but she is the kind of person that you can’t help but love.  She is probably the toughest gal I know – not by choice – life has come at her hard and fast time and time again.  I’ve met some people who have had it rough but really? You think it’s been rough? Spend some time getting to know Lucy and you’ll suddenly find blessings to count.

But here is the real kicker – you know how sometimes people who have been through the ringer a million + times are usually pretty down and out? Well, she isn’t.  She thinks she is, but trust me, she isn’t.  She’ll laugh with you (and she has the most contagious and beautiful laugh). She’ll encourage you.  She’ll demonstrate her strength and resolve without even trying – ’cause that’s what she does – make a way.

I wish I could convince her how beautiful she is. Or how people are drawn to her. Or how she is seriously the smartest chic I know. Or how she is ‘o so graceful in suffering. Or just that she is loved.  If I had to guess, I’d say she won’t buy it.  I wish I could promise her that things will be different and that they have to turn around  but that really isn’t for me to promise.  Yet, I want so badly for that to be truth for Lucy. For life to get suddenly freakishly easy for her. For her to be able to get the rest that her heart so badly needs.  Since that can’t be my promise, I’ll make it my prayer…

She is going to have to get used to us, ’cause we’re not leaving her.  And not just to prove the point that “see, not everyone leaves you” but because we really, really really, pacifically love her at dis time (and always).  She is family to us and y’all know how hard it is to shake family. If one of us moves away from here at some point, that doesn’t mean it’s over – it just means our times together are that much more precious.

She has taught me how to appreciate the wonder that is my kids (did I mention that they adore Lucy?) ….how to be thankful for the gift that is my husband and  how to just put “it” all out there and not worry about what others think .  I wish everyone had a Lucy in their life.  If she’s reading this, she probably has talked herself out of the possibility that this is even about her but it is, Lucy.  You know who you are and I love you.  My family loves you.  We think you’re the coolest – for real do’.

I’m not always sure how to be a (good)  friend but people have come into my life, like Lucy, that make it easy.

Have I mentioned how in awe we are to be blessed with such amazing friends?

-Ingrid

Share

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 11:41 am

    “Lucy’s” are few and far between but OH how they make our lives so beautiful… 🙂 thankful for Lucy in your life today!

  2. June 21, 2010 5:58 pm

    Lucy sounds like the Jam! so glad you have a Lucy. I love how you talk about her. i often wish my “Lucy’s” would get how amazing they are as well. I wish they could see just how much of a blessing they are. I wish i had words big enough to convey my gratefulness. But i am happy to keep telling and showing them.

    Thanks for loving your Lucy well!! You have a great heart!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention I Love Lucy « Life with Jding -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

