Skip to content

Time To Throw Out Some Rifles

July 15, 2010

A couple of weeks ago, my son came into my room during nap time with tears streaming down his face.  “Momma,” he said, “I think we need to throw away my rifle…”

Let me back up a bit. The previous weekend, we had gone to the Dixie Stampede (don’t judge, it’s a hoot!).  When you walk in, they usher you through a number of different areas until everyone finally spills out into the gift shop where straight ahead of you, there is a giant display of toy rifles and guns (don’t be so surprised! It’s the Midwest where people hunt their own dinner and stuff ).  My sons jaw dropped when he saw this display and was drawn in like a moth to a flame.  “Can I get a rifle, please?”  A question softly uttered as he looked past us in awe of the sight before him.  He had been saving money he’d earned from picking up the neighbors newspaper while they were away and Joel and I told him that if he wanted to use that money (which he had held onto for weeks waiting to find the perfect thing to buy with it) to purchase a rifle, he could. And he did. And so began the love affair with his new toy rifle which thankfully, doesn’t actually shoot anything but rather just makes a loud clicking noise.  Okay, back to his nap time tears…

“Momma, I think we need to throw away my rifle.”  I couldn’t figure out what he was talking about! He was supposed to be in his room sleeping or at least pretending to do so and I normally wouldn’t have even entertained the conversation but he had me curious as to why he’d want to throw away his beloved rifle which had been by his side for days (including sleep and the rest room).  “Why, Buddy?”  I asked.  His reply floored me.  “Mom, I really love this rifle and I can’t stop thinking about it and I can’t even sleep because I love it so much and I don’t think that’s good so I think I should throw it out” (he’s five, run on sentences are allowed).

How is it that my son had figured something out via a toy rifle that I still struggle with daily.  His statement came at me like a blow to my stomach.  So wait, if I love something so much that it consumes me and my thoughts, it’s probably become an idol and I should get rid of it?  Okay, God, I’ve got it.  Once again, you’ve spoken to me through the megaphone that is my sweet boy’s voice.  I’ve since been working to identify the rifles in my own life and readjust their importance or better yet, throw them out completely.

My son, on the other hand, well, he got to keep his rifle.  We had a talk about how we need to learn to find balance in our lives and that it’s okay to have things that we really like in our lives but sometimes, when they become a bit too important, we need to set them aside for a bit.  He did and now all is well in his balanced toy life of trucks, trains and rifles.

Got any rifles you need to throw of your life?

–Ingrid

Share

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 15, 2010 11:15 pm

    I walk in the house and the “sleeping” children walk out of the room to greet me. Go figure. Your son is “hiding” something behind his back…. Yeah it was the rifle. I had to laugh.

    Oh by the way… you right good. Yup… you do.

Leave a Reply

