Skip to content

Dear Son, You Have What It Takes

August 11, 2010

My Dearest Son –

Even as I write this I can’t believe how fast the time has gone by since I first held you in my arms. Now, over 5 years from that first day of your life, I find my heart flooded with a mix of emotions as we (your Mommy & I) get ready to send you off to your first day of kindergarten. I know you won’t read this for years — but maybe someday you might want to or even need to So here goes.

I am in awe of you, son, and I love your heart. I love the glory of God that is readily apparent in your living the life He’s given you each day. You are my young warrior. You are God’s warrior and He has given you a courageous yet tender heart; one that loves deeply yet honorably for the Lord and that roars fearless the redeeming claim of sonship laid upon your life through Christ Jesus.

For those times when you are confused, broken-hearted or uncertain as to whether or not you can continue, remember this:

 You have what it takes.

Without question, you have what it takes; because of the washing, regeneration, purchasing and winning of your soul from sin, death, and the power of the evil one. You are unstoppable; because Jesus is your Lord and your Savior. Be certain of that…even when everything else in your life seems uncertain…even when you have trouble…

…because you will have trouble.

Just knowing the truth of that statement even now breaks my heart. But God has charged me, as your Dad, with warning you, preparing you and equipping you for the fight. You’re not too young to put on the armor and pick up the sword He’s given you. And just so you know and so you don’t feel like you’re the only one, I wear the same armor and wield the same sword. It’s one size fits all.  So once again today, I promise, with the help of God, to teach you how to fight with Christ at your side.

Through every time that you rise up and stand victorious to those periods where you may lose heart and have your faith shaken — Boldly give God the glory! Because, trust me when I say that Jesus is with you. He promises it!  And as you like to say, “A promise is a promise.” But don’t just trust me because I’ve told you. Trust your Heavenly Father because He’s told it to every one of His children from the beginning of time.

I don’t know what’s in store for you and the adventures that await you but I stand humbled and so very excited as I watch at how the Lord is working in your life.

Keep Christ as your stronghold; your Rock! Anything that you build with Him as the cornerstone will stand firm, despite the worst raging storms.

 I love your life. I delight in you. You have what it takes, son.

-Dad

He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.  I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress,  my God, in whom I trust.” Surely he will save you from the fowler’s snare and from the deadly pestilence. He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart. You will not fear the terror of night,  nor the arrow that flies by day, nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness, nor the plague that destroys at midday. A thousand may fall at your side,  ten thousand at your right hand, but it will not come near you. You will only observe with your eyes and see the punishment of the wicked.

If you make the Most High your dwelling— even the LORD, who is my refuge – then no harm will befall you, no disaster will come near your tent. or he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways; they will lift you up in their hands, so that you will not strike your foot against a stone. You will tread upon the lion and the cobra; 
you will trample the great lion and the serpent.

“Because he loves me,” says the LORD, “I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name. He will call upon me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him. With long life will I satisfy him and show him my salvation.”         -Psalm 91

 

Share

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2010 2:56 pm

    Wow. Amazing post.

    • August 11, 2010 3:04 pm

      Thanks Chrissy! As I was writing it, I realized that it was certainly for him but that God was also using it to remind me of who I am as one of His sons through Christ. -Joel

  2. Ma Ross permalink
    August 11, 2010 10:06 pm

    What a blessing you are Joel, so thankful for you, and your wonderful example of a true man of God… Ingrid, O and E are so blessed.

    • August 12, 2010 8:57 am

      Thank you Ma — we loved having you here!!! Can’t wait to have you back in a few weeks! -Joel

  3. battlefieldextra permalink
    August 12, 2010 11:19 am

    I’m gonna copy this and give it to Luke. Great post.

    • August 12, 2010 1:01 pm

      Thanks my friend!!! Of course, if you give it to him anytime soon, you might provide him with some crayons or fold it into a paper airplane or a cool piece of origami. Or just let him chew on it. See ya!

  4. Gary permalink
    August 13, 2010 8:52 am

    Five years! School! Wow I recall holding this baby rock through a basketball game and loving his every wiggle. Yes he will be challenged as we all are. Meeting the challenges battle prepared is what molds and strengthens the man. O has the solid foundation and love of his father and his Father. His Father has provided the armour and his father has shown him how to wear it. Battle ready! What a great man he will become because of what a great father and Father he has.

    • August 13, 2010 9:20 am

      Thanks Gary! I so very much appreciate your friendship!

Leave a Reply

