Skip to content

Laughing With Her

August 25, 2010

I love laughing with Ingrid. I don’t mean “chortle chuckle haha that’s funny” — I mean the, “my face hurts, tears rolling, she’s squeaking, I let out a snort, my side hurts, risk of peeing your pants, we need to pull the car-over before we run a red light” laughing. I could fill a day with telling stories where we’ve laughed like this and it’s some of those memories that I know I’ll continue to cherish the most in our marriage. We love to laugh together. The funny stuff happens and it has the power to dissolve disagreements, break-up stress, counter sad times. It lifts us up. Sometimes I think it makes us fall even more deeply in love.

We absolutely take the responsibility God’s given us as spouses, parents and as people in service for His glory very seriously. But we seldom take ourselves too seriously. We simply do too many silly and wacky things every day to not take a second to laugh at ourselves.

On a side note, I’ve got to say that we’ve recently been laughing through the ABC TV show Wipeout. It’s proven to be full of folks (I would totally go on this show if given the chance) who love a challenge and certainly aren’t afraid to fall, get back up, take a blow from a huge foam battering ram into a mud puddle, get back up…and laugh the whole way through it. I, for one, totally identify with that!

Ok, so seriously though, I was thinking this morning — why does it seem that now, more than ever, Ingrid and I love laughing together? I really think the answer is summed up in Psalm 126:

When the LORD brought back the captives to Zion,  we were like men who dreamed. Our mouths were filled with laughter, our tongues with songs of joy. Then it was said among the nations,  “The LORD has done great things for them.”  The LORD has done great things for us, and we are filled with joy. Restore our fortunes, O LORD, like streams in the Negev. Those who sow in tears will reap with songs of joy. He who goes out weeping, carrying seed to sow, will return with songs of joy, carrying sheaves with him.

I think we continue to learn more and more that we live this life amidst joy and pain. But we live this life, IN HIM; knowing His promises for us are true; believing that God’s grace through Jesus’ painful sacrifice for us “restores our fortunes” …forever. We joy in Him.

So if you’re taking the time to read this, answer one or both of these questions for us. Who do you love to laugh with and what have you found that cracks you up lately? Again, not the polite little “haha” – but the “did someone just rip their pants” laughing. Or is laughing not something you do very often?   Look forward to hearing from you!

Share

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Midge permalink
    August 27, 2010 1:58 pm

    You know my initial answer is – I don’t laugh very often. HOWEVER – the person who I think is absolutely positively, the most hilarious and wonderful – and who makes me laugh? Ingrid!! And the four of you? Forget about it! Hands down, the cutest funniest family ever!! – including the Coopster.

    • August 30, 2010 11:04 am

      We love laughing with you too! Speaking of that, let’s hang out soon, make yummy food and laugh till it hurts. See ya! -Joel & Ingrid

Trackbacks

  1. Funny Funny Friday!!! « Life with Jding

Leave a Reply

