Skip to content

3yr-old Girl Spotted Swinging Huge Sword

September 7, 2010

I would do well to take a lesson from my little girl who, a few days ago, when she turned the corner into a room of our house that was a bit darker than she cared for, got a bit shaken up and then sent her rendition of 2 Timothy 1:7 into the room ahead of her:

“…God did not give me a spirit of fear, but of power, love and a sound mind…”

 …Then she walked into the dark room. She felt protected because she wasn’t walking into the room alone. Whether realizing it or not, she was asking God to go with her, ahead of her, behind her.  And I know He does that and so much more in measures I’ll never understand.

She still gets scared sometimes and as her Dad, I’m always happy to go into any room on a “search and destroy mission” for any monsters under the bed or in the closet. But even at the young age of 3 yrs & 364 days old, she knows that there is power in speaking the Word of God. That’s a lesson I understand and have witnessed so many times…I’m pretty sure it’s saved my life on a number of occasions. And yet all too often, I make the choice to blatantly disregard taking up the “Sword of the Spirit”. I’m thankful that God will stop at nothing to remind me of His love and promises for me; even to the point of sending His message through my exceedingly cute, undauntedly brave and beautifully faithful daughter.

Share

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 4:18 pm

    This is amazing. Amazing and touching. I still remember calling on the Lord when I was little and I thought I heard footsteps in the hall while sleeping… even though it turned out it was just my heartbeat 😉
    Thank you for this inspiring post. I hope that one day, my daughter does the same.

    • September 8, 2010 10:53 am

      Thanks Stephanie! With a great Mom like you at her side, I’m sure she’ll learn to call on Him just like you did! Thanks so much for reading!!! Really love the way you’ve set up your blog/website by the way — very cool! -Joel

  2. September 9, 2010 9:48 am

    How wonderful and how powerful! Out of the mouths of babes is so true! She is such a sweetheart and it is so great to see how God is so real to her at such a young age! Thanks for sharing such a great reminder for all of us “big” people who don’t always remember to do this for ourselves! 🙂

Leave a Reply

