Skip to content

Please Just Sit With Me

September 21, 2010

My daughter does not like to sleep (understatement of the week).  She fears that every time she puts her sweet head on the pillow and closes her eyes, she is missing out on something fantastic and so she fights it with all that is in her.  Depending on our resolve and sense of humor, our bedtime struggle can take anywhere from minutes to hours but she will not give in without a fight.

Her brother has nightmares and she has picked up on the fact that yelling “I’m scared” will get her some sympathy votes.  So one night a few weeks ago when Joel was out-of-town and I thought I had been victorious in the struggle, I heard her crying for me so I went in to check on her.

This time her crying seemed legitimate and her fears very real and as I walked in the doors she started to beg through the tears, “Momma, just sit with me, please just sit with me.”  This was not a normal request for her and the tender and broken tone had me instantly snuggling up next to her, sitting with her  and slowly, singing her back to sleep.  It was in that moment that I could relate to my daughter more than I cared to admit.

So often, as life continues to batter me with struggles and sorrows to counterbalance the joys, my heart’s cry is for someone to just sit with me.  Be with me. Know me without judgment and just love on me.  And in my imperfections that abound, and in her cry I was reminded that the only one who can do that for me is my Heavenly Dad.

As I got her back to sleep and started to reflect on the passionate purity of her request for someone to just be there with her, I was thankful that I could do the same.  That in my flashes (or days) of loneliness, all I have to do is stop and remember that He is there.  If I feel Him or not, He is there.  If He answers my requests immediately or not, His heart is good.  And beyond requests and wants, His desire is to just sit with me and give my heart rest.   And in that rest, my heart is somehow beautifully patched and filled up for whatever is around the corner.

I learn a lot from the heart cries of my ‘lil girl…

Ingrid

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ma Ross permalink
    September 21, 2010 9:21 pm

    Amen my sweet daughter, and I too, learn a lot from the heart cries of my lil girl…
    I’ll love you always.

  2. September 27, 2010 8:10 am

    Great and simple request. Simple cry of the heart is what I have as well. I wonder now how many times I don’t cry out to him to sit with me. I have a hard time asking anyone to do that. I know he is comfort and the only consoler of my deep down. I also wonder how many times do i miss his invitation of sitting with him. something to marinate on today.

    • September 27, 2010 1:14 pm

      I’m right there with that invitation of missing His calling me to sit with him – especially when I probably need it most but think I’m “too busy”. Ugh – Ingrid

Leave a Reply

