Skip to content

Beware “the love of the telling”

October 5, 2010

“Every poet and musician and artist, but for Grace, is drawn away from the love of the thing he tells, to the love of the telling till, down in Deep Hell, they cannot be interested in God at all but only in what they say about Him”  – C.S. Lewis (The Great Divorce)

This quote is one of those caveats that I could read once each day yet still need to be reminded 10 times a day as to the gravity of its application to my life. 

Some of you know that I spent much of last week and the weekend in Ocean Grove, New Jersey at The Forge Conference hosted at the Ocean Grove Camp Meeting Association. I’m still working through my mound o’ notes and I think that I’ll have more than a few posts regarding things that I learned, that God affirmed or reaffirmed, and just other experiences and relationships that formed as a result of my time there. Along those same lines, I think I’ve got to discern what I’m supposed to write about and what God meant for just me to have hidden in my heart as loving reassurance. For now, I wanted to focus on this quote that one of the speakers, Grant Norsworthy, highlighted during a couple of his talks.

I love the reminder that, in speaking the name of Jesus; in leading His people to sing praises and to worship Him with every breath, act and thought in our lives —

I’ve got to be on constant guard against falling in love more with the telling of the Gospel than with applying and BELIEVING and JOYING IN every one of its promises for MY LIFE first and foremost.

Holding Christ’s promises (all of them) true for our life and as relevant to our part in this amazing rescue story is the most critical. Don’t get me wrong, telling the story is important too, but we have got to know that Satan will try to twist the success and accolades we might receive from our abilities to talk or sing about Jesus into something that we start to crave more than Jesus Himself. Share

2 Comments leave one →
  1. grantnorsworthy permalink
    October 5, 2010 4:29 pm

    Nice one Joel. I am so thrilled that God chose to speak through me to you and that you are now passing this challenging word from C.S.Lewis along. With Holy fear, my hope and prayer is that me being thrilled is something that I am falling out of love with and that I am falling more and more in love with Jesus Himself. I am corrupted, but because of His grace, I am in process!

    Jesus +/- 0 = EVERYTHING

    Peace

    Grant

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Setlist (10 October 2010) « Life with Jding

Leave a Reply

