Skip to content

Sunday Setlist (31 October 2010)

November 1, 2010

Yesterday’s services were such a treat because our music ministry team got to collaborate with our great friends from Haiti Christian Ministries – Pastor Manno his wife, Prisca and Pastor Marc Aurel; visiting and preaching at our and a few other churches before they head back to Haiti next Monday. Our team chose songs that were familiar and/or easy to learn for everyone, allowing for the majority of our limited practice time to be focused more specifically on the incorporation of some new wireless microphones, songs transitions,  dynamics, and just the overall “who’s gonna do what” prep-work that is so key but is easily lost in the minutia of working out songs that are maybe a bit more unfamiliar.  All in all, I think it was a good decision that really manifested itself in three services that were really beautiful offerings of praise to the Lord. I can’t say again how blessed and thankful I am by just having been able to sing and play music with that group yesterday. During lunch after the services, I was talking with Pastor Manno and he was so excited as he told me that after the last service, a woman came up to him and said, “I’ve never been to this church until today and I’m so glad that I made the decision to come here today to hear your message and praise God with you. It was like I was just supposed to be here today.” 

I know that those amazing happenings occur all over the world every day. But I’m still floored by the what that lady said. More so because of what Manno preached on —

Then they came to Jericho. As Jesus and his disciples, together with a large crowd, were leaving the city, a blind man, Bartimaeus (that is, the Son of Timaeus), was sitting by the roadside begging. When he heard that it was Jesus of Nazareth, he began to shout, “Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!” Many rebuked him and told him to be quiet, but he shouted all the more, “Son of David, have mercy on me!” Jesus stopped and said, “Call him.” So they called to the blind man, “Cheer up! On your feet! He’s calling you.” Throwing his cloak aside, he jumped to his feet and came to Jesus. ”What do you want me to do for you?” Jesus asked him. The blind man said, “Rabbi, I want to see.” “Go,” said Jesus, “your faith has healed you.” Immediately he received his sight and followed Jesus along the road.       Mark 10:46-52

I don’t at all want to take away from the wonder of that beautiful miracle described in this portion of scripture but I just have got to highlight something. Bartimaeus felt that tug from the Holy Spirit to call out to Jesus, to come to Him; despite hecklers who told him to shut-up. In a very similar way I know that the woman talking to Manno felt some semblance of that same pull yesterday — I’m thankful that although she’d never been to our church, she decided to come anyway and hear the Good News.

All of that said, here’s how our setlist looked.

  • Opening Song: Celebrate the Lord (by Bryan Rush) *Bryan goes to our church and is a great friend and a gifted songwriter. Check out his music here!
  • Hosanna (by Paul Baloche & Brenton Brown)
  • I Exalt Thee (by Pete Sanchez Jr.)
  • He Knows My Name (by Tommy Walker)
  • Closing Song: Days of Elijah (by Robin Mark)

The above list really doesn’t look like much now that I see it on the screen. Which is just fine, but I just wish all of you could have been there. If you were there, it was so much fun making “a joyful noise unto the Lord” alongside you!!!

One last note — I’ve not written all that much about some of the experiences and notes that I took during my time at The Forge Conference about a month ago. I’ve loved and gotten so much out of reading other friends’ feedback from the conference but to tell you the truth, I’ve just not had all that much clarity on what I wanted to expound upon further. As we worked through this past week’s band practices and then after yesterday’s services, I think  the “what” has been a bit more solidified in my mind. So stay tuned — tomorrow’s post will be the first of a few that incorporate what I learned or was reminded of at ForgeCon10.

Be sure to check out additional Sunday Setlists and a ton of other great resources at The Worship Community!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 1:55 pm

    Could we close with Days of Elijah every week? 🙂

  2. Kevin Daharsh permalink
    November 1, 2010 9:20 pm

    All the worship just brought back all the memories of Worship in Haiti.Only this time we could TOTALLY understand Pastor Manno`s sermon and WOW what a message. It was awesome to hear the Haitian Language praising God.The ENERGY was again a reminder of the WWRA attitude that the people of Haiti worship and we as believers should worship with.By the way WWRA is just a simple phrase that kind of came about it stands for Worship With Reckless Abandon…Thanks again for the Worship..Later Kev

    • November 1, 2010 9:45 pm

      I’m going to miss them but I’m so glad we were able to have them with us. Such a blessed time that we got to share with them!

Leave a Reply

