Skip to content

Tuesdays with Morrie

November 2, 2010

There’s this non-fiction novel published in 1997 by writer Mitch Albom titled, Tuesdays with Morrie (later made into a TV movie). It tells the story of sociologist Morrie Schwartz and his relationship with his students. One student, the author, really hits it off with Morrie. The likeable sociologist says that he’ll keep in touch with Mitch after his graduation but Mitch hears nothing of his old professor until one evening. He sees Morrie being interviewed on television and he learns that Morrie now has ALS (Lou Gehrig’s Disease), a terminal disease. Mitch begins to visit his professor every week and soon realizes that, though he has grown remarkably, he still has so much to learn from this ailing man. Read more about the book if you’d like but it’s the title that I really care about for the moment… 

A few times now I’ve been blessed to have the opportunity to listen to worship leader/songwriter, Paul Baloche talk about his experiences with writing music for the church, leading people in worship, and most insightful, about his relationship with Jesus. There’s this phrase that Paul loves to use that helps to paint a great representation of what Sunday morning church sometimes turns into for probably a good amount of people; whether participating as part of the congregation, as a pastor, as part of a music/technology ministry team, or as an usher or greeter. When I heard him speak at The Forge Conference, I caught that phrase again and it stung just like every other time I’ve heard it. He said, “Going to church on Sunday morning and interacting with God should never be like Tuesdays with Morrie”. It’s a simple enough phrase with a simple enough message; but the more I chewed on those words the more God showed me where I’ve done just that to Him.

So many times I’ve set up a place-holder for God in my life. I’ve usually sectioned off about a one to two hour block on Sunday mornings and maybe a couple hours whenever I meet with my men’s small group on the first and third Monday of every month. I’m not saying that God doesn’t use those times, or that He doesn’t honor those opportunities to speak into my life. I believe He does. But here’s the catch —

I OUGHT TO KNOW BETTER! Because — I am a Christian. And YES, simply that alone is enough that I should change my level of intimacy with Jesus Christ. But it’s not only that.

I’ve talked for awhile about feeling that strong pull more and more each day (the same type that I mentioned yesterday) to continue to write music – for Him; to continue to sing and lead worship – for Him; to continue to serve His Church throughout the world with more boldness than I’ve done ever before. As excited as I am about that, I absolutely cannot do ALL of that running on “Tuesdays…or Sundays (and the occasional Monday) With Jesus”.

Come to think of it. I can’t even be a godly husband to my wife, father to my kids, small group leader, Christ-centered employee at my work if I rely on “Sundays with Jesus”. And it’s NOT because Jesus’ power outpoured correlates at all to the amount of time I “give” Him (I know He can do anything He wants at any time in my life or anyone else’s). It’s that, although I am saved by His grace through faith, I am still fallen and I will fall further if I try to do His work and live for His glory without saturating every corner of my life with the promises given to me in His Word. It’s the truth. Colossians 3:16 reminds us to,

Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts.

Living life WITH God does not translate to wacky goose bumpy stuff all the time or “how great the music was” on Sunday morning (more on that in an upcoming post). Those notions have zero to do with worship and and really cloud one’s picture of intamacy with Jesus Christ.

Stirring God’s Word in our hearts; proclaiming Him boldly; calling upon the name of Jesus despite the hecklers that might take a cheap shot at us; living out Christ’s promises in the trenches of our lives – that is Worship. During his session with us at the conference, Paul Baloche asked this great question of the Christian leaders in the room: “How can we lead others into something that we’re not practicing ourselves?”

…more to come…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 10:57 am

    Well put my friend.

    It reminded me of this scripture: Acts 17:27-28 27 That they should seek the Lord, if haply they might feel after him, and find him, though he be not far from every one of us:b28 For in him we live, and move, and have our being; as certain also of your own poets have said, For we are also his offspring.”

    It’s when our lives our hid in Christ, that we find life more abundant!

    • November 2, 2010 11:47 am

      Bill – I love that verse. Thanks so much for that reminder!!! Thanks for dropping by!

  2. November 2, 2010 11:56 am

    living with God is like marriage and I think it is why sometimes God calls the church His bride to help illustrate it for us.
    Sometimes we don’t want to hold hands with our spouse but that doesn’t me that we shouldn’t. It won’t always be warm and fuzzy, but I think that is what separates a good marriage from a bad one. The good one will hold hands and fight for one another regardless if they are getting something in return.
    Ultimately it all comes back to loving God with all your heart and going after His desires to the point where they become our desires.

    • November 2, 2010 9:14 pm

      Joel – great to hear from you and what a great point about how His desires becoming our own as we continue to seek and love Him more.

  3. Stacey permalink
    November 2, 2010 12:11 pm

    Awesome Word! Thanks for sharing Joel! 🙂

    • November 2, 2010 9:15 pm

      Is it time for you guys to come hang w/ us yet? Hurry up!!!

  4. November 2, 2010 8:46 pm

    My brother, wow! Thanks for sharing such an awesome post with us.

    • November 2, 2010 9:15 pm

      Jack – great to here from you. I remember you and your church in my prayers often brother!

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Setlist (31 October 2010) « Life with Jding

Leave a Reply

