Skip to content

One Word 2011

January 1, 2011
tags: , ,

This year, instead of making resolutions that get lost as the days passed, I’m going to follow the lead of Alece from Grit and Glory and pick One Word for 2011.  The idea is to pick one word to focus on for the year – let it guide you and be a constant reminder to you as the days, weeks and months pass.  Last year, I really struggled to figure out one word for 2010 and as a result, it got lost in the shuffle of the year.

This year, I asked that whatever word I should choose would be made obvious to me in the weeks leading up to today.  I hadn’t really thought of that request until a few days ago.  There was a decision that had been years in the making that was about to finally come through and the whole situation seemed hopeless.  I was beyond frustrated with God and couldn’t believe the way things seemed to be going.  At what felt like the last-minute, the decision came through and it was a good one – and answer to prayer and a miracle.  In that moment of hearing the news, my heart was suddenly bursting with hope.  Not just for this situation but for many things that I’ve been praying for and waiting on and I was reminded that in the midst of it, I need to hold on to hope.  To not get caught up in the things seen but to still hope for what isn’t yet seen – even when it feels impossible.

If you can’t tell yet, my word for this year is HOPE.  It seemed kind of cliché to me until I realized it has been everywhere for me the past few days – commercials, songs, billboards, junk mail – I got it! So cliché or not, HOPE is my word for 2011.  I’m going to cling to it, search for it and hopefully share hope with those around me.

What’s your One Word for 2011?

Happy & Hopeful 2011!

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. Romans 12:12

–Ingrid

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2011 9:29 pm

    Hope is the anchor for our heart. Love it! Thanks for sharing your #OneWord2011!

    • January 3, 2011 8:40 pm

      I love that hope is the anchor for our heart – and yet so easy to lose sight of… not this year 🙂

  2. January 2, 2011 10:32 am

    i love that HOPE is your word. (i almost chose it as well…) seems so hard for me to hold onto these days. i look forward to being challenged and inspired as you walk this out this year. thank you for letting me journey with you!

    • January 3, 2011 8:40 pm

      I almost didn’t pick it because it felt overused but then “hope” was everywhere and I knew it was for me – thanks for putting this together!

  3. January 2, 2011 11:04 am

    What a beautiful, remarkable word.

    • January 3, 2011 8:41 pm

      Thanks – I’m looking for a true hope this year and not just a fleeting hope in things that don’t matter… if that makes any sense

  4. Mary Hess permalink
    January 2, 2011 1:24 pm

    Awesome word!

    • January 3, 2011 8:41 pm

      Thanks – looking forward to how it plays out

  5. January 2, 2011 7:02 pm

    ohhhh you are a brave one! hope is so hard for me. there’s an element of it in my word (trust) which I know will be challenging. hope has a sunrise quality to it and god is definitely going to surprise you with it!

    • January 3, 2011 8:43 pm

      It’s the sunrise of hope that I’m most excited about. I feel like the darkness has been looming for too long.
      Trust is a brave word (isn’t it funny how each word brings different emotions for each of us?) and I’m praying that the result of your trust overwhelms you with His love

  6. January 3, 2011 2:52 pm

    I am a great fan of hope.

    <

  7. January 3, 2011 3:59 pm

    I know it’s so 2009, but ‘Simplicity’ would be my word. It was kind of my word without my knowing it this past year, but it’s been complicated getting traction on being simple.

    • January 3, 2011 8:45 pm

      Simplicity is a great word – especially with three young kids at home! So easy to get wrapped up in the stuff and then that snowballs. Praying that you find simplicity in a refreshing way this year!

  8. Christie Stover permalink
    January 4, 2011 12:05 pm

    Hope is a wonderful word. It will be a guiding lite for you in your future. Patience is my word. Patience with all I want to accomplish this year.

  9. January 11, 2011 2:50 am

    HOPE! I think that is beautiful (and not just because it is my daughter’s middle name).

    A wonderful thing to concentrate on this year.

Trackbacks

  1. OK, Maybe I Lied–One More Note on 2011 | A Dad's Journal
  2. Hope to Gratitude « Life with Jding

Leave a Reply

