Skip to content

Pouring Out

January 13, 2011

I have had an amazing last couple of days and I just thought I’d take a minute to tell you why. It’s simply because of where I’ve been pouring my heart. Don’t get me wrong, I love to write and reflect on this blog. I love community and the gathering of hundreds in the name of Jesus. And there have been half a dozen times over the past couple days where I’ve wanted to try to communicate where or how God was using me to pour into another person’s life and how that person was pouring into mine. But whenever I considered a post, I kept on hearing loud and clear, “No, this is not for everyone.”

I’ll say that for the last couple days I’ve been talking back and forth with a good friend of mine and on top of what God is doing in our lives individually, He’s teaching me such a wonderful lesson.

Taking the time for deeper conversation; for laboring and praying with one friend is such a raw and beautiful thing. Whether in person, on the phone, even in emails between two people…there’s really no one else to hide behind. You have two choices: You can ignore each other or jump right into each other’s lives. You challenge one another, you banter, you get angry and annoyed but you pour out what God gives you in order to fill up your friend. And they do the same for you.

So don’t stop enjoying the blogs and the joy of our larger community in Christ. But recognize those chances to pour into just one person that God sticks in front of you. I think you’ll find yourself overwhelmed when you realize how they fill your heart as well and most of all, how God cultivates His love in your heart. 

Anybody know what I’m sayin?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 8:32 pm

    that is so awesome and enriching, Joel!! so glad you are loving life by pouring into another. there is nothing like it!

    • January 21, 2011 7:56 am

      Thanks Tracee! Appreciate how you pour your heart into so many people as well!

Leave a Reply

