Skip to content

Dear Daughter, I Delight in You

January 25, 2011

My Dearest Daughter,

As excited as I know you are, it’s a tough pill for your Mom and I to swallow – sending you to your first day of pre-school today. I know you’ll not read this for a while but I pray that some day you’ll have the opportunity to see it and be reminded that all of these things are true of you. I pray also that as your Dad, (right now you like to call me Poppi alot…a name you gave me that I’ve come to love)  I am ever compelled to remind you of how much I adore you and what your Heavenly Father thinks of you…what He will always think of you.

You are lovely. You are beautiful. From your first breath in this world till now, you stop me in my tracks because of your beauty. I am utterly undone by your calls to me in the middle of the night and will always be ready to vanquish bad dreams and occasional shadow monsters on your bedroom wall.

As I see your smile, hear your laugh, watch you skip literally everywhere you go and sing made-up silly songs about “luka-lei-leis” or others that proclaim your absolute certainty that Jesus is your best friend, I get a fresh view of God. And you are nothing short of made in His image, my love! You are captivating and so clearly His crown of creation…His beauty and tenderness brought into being and extravagantly displayed by His creation of Eve.

You said to me a couple of nights ago, through tears and a trembling voice that you just wanted to be like your big brother. As much as I love your brother, I want to remind you what I said to you that night:  I don’t want you to be like your brother. I want you to be like you. Just you. I never want you to be anyone but the girl who God has created you to be. It made you smile and you hugged my neck tighter than you ever have.  I’ll never forget that. I hope you don’t either.

This world will try to twist and contort your view of who you are as a girl and how you ought to look and act and feel. And you might lose your way and you might get confused. So when you do, it’s my prayer that God would remind you that you are beautiful and that you are worth fighting for. Please know that you are seen and held close and that this beauty of yours is something all your own to unveil. There is no one else like you  —  and I love that.

And know these things too BeeWee

You love fiercely. I’m convinced that you know of no other way to do so. And I’m so thankful for that. Because in times when you’re not certain of your direction, let this inheritance be your compass — Jesus Christ loves you fiercely. So much so that He gave His life to save yours. Love is not cheap and it is never an afterthought. So if you ever hear the lie or are made to feel like an afterthought, or anything less than the treasure that I know you are. Stand up and fight against it. You must! And you’re not alone, Jesus is always fighting by your side.

You are worth pursuing. Jesus is always going after the restoration of your heart – even now…and 10 years from now… and for the rest of your life. Even if you turn your back on Him, He’ll be right there when you make your way back home. And by the way, the man who you’ll marry someday needs to pursue your heart…it’s ok to expect that of Him because God expects that from Him too.

You are amazingly hilarious. The dances you do, the faces you make and the jaw-dropping “one-liners” you concoct make my sides hurt from laughing so hard. You are my joy. I see the silly things you do and get a glimpse of the playfulness and creative heart of God. I pray that same joyful fire would always be alive in your heart and that you’d use it to help heal the broken-hearted and bring smiles and laughter to those whose path you cross.

You are a part of a great adventure and have been born into this world for a grand plan that only God fully realizes, but that He’ll reveal to you as you seek Him day by day. I can’t wait to see how He continues His work in you. Take His courage planted in your heart and never be afraid to stand with Him; showing His love through the highs and lows or your life. Rest on Him in the hard times because He won’t fail you or leave you. I know that because He still proves his faithfulness to me every day, regardless of my circumstance.

You are a daughter. You are my daughter. And I see you and I love your life! Most of all, you are the daughter of a Heavenly Dad who will always come for you; who will always hear you and who is forever your champion.  I am so thankful that you are my girl and that I get to be your Daddy.

I love you with all my heart.  I Delight in you.

-Dad

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Maurice Uenuma permalink
    January 25, 2011 12:05 pm

    I’m trying to be tough & professional and not tear up at my desk at work. This is beautiful. Needless to say, reminds me of what I think and I how feel about my daughter! It’s truly a blessing to be able to be a dad to a young girl…

    • January 25, 2011 1:50 pm

      Don’t feel bad — my eyes leak every once in a while at my desk too. And I’m with you — what amazing gifts to have the love of a daughter and to love her unconditionally! Appreciate and love you guys and give hugs to everyone from all of us!!!

Leave a Reply

