Skip to content

The Inexcusable in Me…Forgiven

February 15, 2011

“To be a Christian means to forgive the inexcusable because God has forgiven the inexcusable in you.”  -C.S. Lewis

Oh my goodness. Do those words brand into your heart like they do mine? If I had to describe how I feel when I read those words, I’d say that it’s a pain that is altogether searing, cleansing and claiming; the ultimate sacrifice that has marked me as one of the redeemed. I am unnerved that someone would go to such great lengths to save my life and even more ruined that the mire of my life, the sin, the deceit; the inexcusable, is pardoned by the blood of the Son of God. 

And still, how many times do I wait too long to forgive others? More accurately, how many times do I “forgive with conditions”; expecting that the same mistakes that others have made against me in the past will never rear their ugly head against me again? I can be such a hypocrite sometimes. How glad I am though, that despite behaving like a hypocrite, I can still call myself an adopted son; ransomed from all that is inexcusable.

Lord, help me to forgive without borders on my heart. Help me to forgive others like You always forgive me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 1:16 pm

    I love that quote. Although I’m sure I have a grudge or three hanging out there, my biggest struggle is to accept that if God forgave the inexcusable in me, that I, too, can move on and not dwell on the stuff in my life that I feel is inexcusable–people I’ve hurt, things I’ve done, opportunities I’ve squandered. I tend to sit in those memories instead of living out of the grace and mercy of God.

    My blog subscriptions go directly into a separate ‘read/review’ folder in my Outlook. I need to move a couple into my main inbox. I miss some good stuff!

    • February 15, 2011 2:43 pm

      Well said Brett! Here’s to choosing to live our days in the love and mercy of Christ; forgiving one another — AND ourselves!!!

      Blessings in Christ to you!

      -Joel

  2. February 15, 2011 7:49 pm

    WOW!! that is an amazing quote, and just goodness right there. Makes me think twice about a lot of things. Seriously humbling.

    • February 15, 2011 8:42 pm

      I know right?!? Those words just cut right to the chase. Love it!

  3. February 18, 2011 4:39 pm

    Ouch, Joel. Ouch.
    Well… I guess I should blame C.S. instead, huh?

    • February 20, 2011 9:34 pm

      I hear ya! That quote is still beating me up. But such a great reminder for me!

Leave a Reply

