Skip to content

Runways, Divas & Salons

May 24, 2011

These kids crack me up. That’s the only way I can start this. I could and probably should be writing about plenty of other things going on in our lives right now…and I’m sure that we’ll do that over the next few weeks but for now. I’ve got to focus on our kids.

If you know Ingrid and I, you know that we love to laugh. I’m so thankful that our kids don’t take themselves too seriously and that they aren’t afraid to be nutty and creative and hilarious. They are truly the comedic duo in our home. And my heart just makes my heart slosh with joy every time I hear them cracking each other up.

So the night I got back from the All About Worship Retreat our kids were involved in a fashion show that is put on by the local highschool kids who have taken part in some of the fashion design classes offered at the school. One of our good friends has family that had made some kids clothes for the fashion show and she’d wanted our kids to don these vests and walk in the show. So the show begins and about halfway through our kids hit the runway and…the place goes nuts!

And then there’s this. Our little diva needed a little change; she thought. So she thought she’d open up a salon for herself…by herself. And honestly, she really didn’t do a bad job at all (though we’d never let her know that) which is why we didn’t have to take the usually standard “after-DIY haircut pictures of her”. Either way, she was pretty proud of herself. And what does she say that really turns Ingrid and I into the parents who are trying to act upset with her but just can’t hold it together because we’re laughing our heads off?

“Yup and I’m going to take that hair I cut and make it into some yarn.”  So we’ve got that to look forward to.

What’s the thing that’s made you laugh the most these past few days?

-Joel

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2011 9:53 am

    First, that is awesome. Top notch skillz on the catwalk!

    Second, my boys have decided to call each other ding dong and laugh about it. (came from when we were being silly and calling Sam ‘Sam-a-lam-a-ding-dong’ and Jakey-lakey-shake-n-bake’). Makes us laugh a little bit.

    • May 25, 2011 10:51 am

      I love that! I’ll bet you laugh quite a bit with those too!

  2. Billy Trimble permalink
    May 25, 2011 4:43 pm

    THAT IS AWESOME!! Thanks for the laugh, your timing is bigger than you think. God works in awesome ways. God bless kids!

    • May 25, 2011 9:48 pm

      Thanks brother! What’s goin on I your life these days! Drop me line on email when u get a chance!

Leave a Reply

