Skip to content

Letting Leviticus Remind Me

August 3, 2011

So I’m going through a chronological Bible reading program. It’s something I committed to at the beginning of the year and quite frankly, had been doing really poorly at the first few months of the year…And then I slacked off again while we were getting ready for the move out to California. Needless to say, I’m not that far along, but I’m back on track now…I think.

I’m right in the middle of Leviticus and every time I mention that fact to someone, I get some pretty interesting responses. Everything from “Wow…how’s that going for you?” to “Oh, I’m sorry.” to “Have you gotten to the chapters about infectious diseases yet?” Yes, I have.

Anyway, I just thought I’d share what’s been running through my mind since Leviticus became a morning routine for me.

Reading it makes me even more in awe of a God who is all together unfathomably holy, fierce, nurturing and loving. And I understand why God had to be specific and had to be prescriptive in providing the rules and regulations for the Israelites to live by. After all, the scriptures talk about how God chose to dwell among the Israelites in the camp, making it holy; Perfect God among a fallen human race. I can’t begin to understand what that looked like to the Israelites but I get the sense that they understood the untamed power and holiness of God in ways that I’m simply pawing at.

What really punches me in the chest about this book of the Bible is that despite being perfect and holy and dangerous and brilliant — God takes the time to show His chosen people how they can live in His holy midst. He teaches them how and why to fear him, how to humble themselves before him, how to serve Him. And in return, He protects and gives provision. He proves Himself good to the Israelites time after time as the One True God.

I keep hearing the C.S. Lewis – The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe character, Mr. Tumnus say that famous line to Lucy regarding their beloved hero Aslan: “After all, he’s not a tame lion.” To which Lucy immediately replies, “No… but he is good.”

I think the Israelites knew just that about God. They saw what happened when one of their own or an enemy of Israel wrongfully tested their fierce God. But they also saw God wanting desperately to be among them; to be the joy of their hearts.

For some reason, I’m finding so much freedom in the fact that we serve a God who is clearly not to be trifled with and yet lavishly chooses to teach me everyday and who pours out blessings and grace to the point of offering up his own Son so that I can live forever in His midst.

He’s not at all tame… but His heart for me is always good.

-Joel

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    August 4, 2011 7:07 pm

    Joel,
    I don’t know how you find time, but my admiration for you and your devotion is limitless.
    That was wonderful to read – you are an inspiration.
    Midge

    • August 7, 2011 12:13 am

      Midge,

      Thanks! Glad it spoke to you my friend! Keeping you lifted up in prayer and I can’t wait for you to visit so we can chat more face to face!!! Are you here yet???

Leave a Reply

