Skip to content

Just tell me what to do here…

August 31, 2011

I was reading Numbers 10 in the Bible the other day and verse 23 tells how the Israelites obeyed God in His telling them when to move and when to stop and set up their encampments. For a whole lot of reasons, I’m guessing, God’s kept this verse anchored in heart even weeks after I’ve read it. Thought I’d share it with you today.

“At the Lord’s command they encamped and at the Lord’s command they set out. They obeyed the Lord’s order in accordance with His command through Moses.”

Lord, help me to move when you say so and to stay put when you tell me to. Tell me when to engage in conflicts or conversations, when to simply listen, when to back away slowly, and when to run away at a dead sprint. And convict me to do all of those things right when you tell me to instead of 10 minutes too late.

-Joel

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2011 1:38 pm

    This is why we need to be hanging out. This is sooooo what’s going on with me right now! Love it. Waiting on the Lord’s timing is probably my least favorite thing. Haha.

    • August 31, 2011 10:54 pm

      Miss you too Meg! Praying that you are encouraged in the knowledge that God takes delight in your obedience regardless of how His timing may differ from yours 😉

      -Joel

  2. Stacey permalink
    August 31, 2011 7:21 pm

    Good word Joel! Just today the Holy Spirit prompted me to do something very simple…I almost didn’t do it but then recalled times when He’s asked me to do something and I didn’t and how I felt afterwards. My obedience today was not rewarded with an instant healing or a soul saved. It cost me little in the way of true sacrifice, but it built my faith and trust in the Lord just knowing that I heard His voice and listened, I knew He was pleased.

    • August 31, 2011 10:50 pm

      That’s so incredible Stacey! He IS pleased with you. And I love your note about the fact that He adores our obedience despite the gravity of the task or it’s eternal implications. He just desires our obedience. Appreciate you friend!!!

      -Joel

Leave a Reply

