Skip to content

Hope to Gratitude

January 4, 2012

My one word for 2011 was HOPE.  And oh my dang it did not disappoint.

I knew I’d need a reminder for hope so early off last year, I purchased a necklace with a small tag on it that read “hope”.  Everyday, I was reminded of my word as I put it on and I was pleasantly surprised of how that morning ritual reminded me to seek out hope in all things.

I found hope and Joel and I dove in to pursue full-time ministry.

I’ve scrapped to find hope in some dark times and been in awe of the hope given to me in some fantastically good times.

And if I’ve learned anything from hope, it is to be thankful for all the many blessings – and for hope itself.

A side bar to hope for me has been, as the year progressed, to be grateful for the faith to hold on or to rejoice or whatever else a situation may call for.

As I began to pray about what my focus for this next year should be I was surrounded by gratitude – quotes, sermons, funny quips – the whole lot.  And so I decided to embrace it…

My one word for these next 365 days is GRATITUDE.

I will purpose to show gratitude in all situations – good, bad and ugly.

And again, I have another visual reminder staring back at me each day. So as each situation arises, I have something in front of me reminding me to choose gratitude, savor it, or search for it – either way, gratitude is the way for me this year.

 

Do you have a word that is guiding you this year?  If so, please link up with the www.oneword365.com community

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2012 10:52 am

    Funny Coincidence that I just posted my link and it happened to be number 205 behind your 204. I’m fully gratitudinal that you mentioned it last year! Now if I could figure out how to put one of them buttons on my site, I’d do it.

    Congrats to you guys on what seems to have been a wonderfully full year!

    • January 4, 2012 2:26 pm

      I love that you’re gratitudinal. And I now always think of you whenever I hear someone talk about “margin” – you’re transparency to find it in your life has made me mindful of it in my own life – thanks!

  2. January 4, 2012 10:55 am

    Woah. I had no idea that was your 2011 one word. Hope is mine this year. 🙂

    • January 4, 2012 2:23 pm

      Hope is such a lovely word to make a focus for your year – it’s gonna be amazing…

  3. January 4, 2012 11:09 am

    Gratitude is one of my favorite things! I don’t think you’ll have trouble finding it in everything, everywhere. Good word!

    • January 4, 2012 2:24 pm

      Thanks! I realized how much I don’t take time to be grateful so now, I’m gonna be all over it – at least that’s the plan!

  4. Sarah permalink
    January 4, 2012 10:01 pm

    Yet another example of how I am better for knowing you both and so very blessed to call you friends.

Leave a Reply

