Skip to content

My Treasure for Today

April 26, 2012
I was reading these words during my devotion time this morning:

Therefore, since through God’s mercy we have this ministry, we do not lose heart. Rather, we have renounced secret and shameful ways; we do not use deception, nor do we distort the word of God. 2 Corinthians 4:1-2a

It’s so easy to lose heart. It’s not something we intend to do — but it’s something that we find occurring in some area of our lives all too often. It’s also a common temptation for us to try to warp the truth set before us in the word of God. We try to make it “work for us” in order that we can go on traveling down a path that’s clearly sinful but really tough for us to even want to get out of. So we sink into whatever the sin is and then we try to find a way to ease our conscience by picking and choosing scripture out of context in order to make some sort of funky recipe that makes us feel better…but is really unhealthy and untrue. Or, we just decide that we’ve got better things to do than make time for studying God’s Word; after all, we might be convicted to change…and that could get messy…and who wants a mess when we could have fake bliss? What’s more, we end up verbalizing those same rationalizations to our friends, family, teammates, co-workers and maybe they use it to rationalize their own falls. That’s also pretty unhealthy and pretty dangerous. And we know we’re wrong…that’s the thing…we know it. So we lose heart because evil whisper the lie to us that we aren’t sure we could ever get free from this sin or guilt. The way out is too tough…We aren’t sure that we could ever be free.
What I find most beautiful is that it’s clear that despite all of our screwing up and distortions and losing heart, God in His mercy gives us this ministry to accomplish on His behalf. He invites us to speak His truth boldly, even out of our brokenness. He commissions us to speak against our shame and live in the truth that says (in verse 7 of chapter 4), But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from usGod works in us because He expects and desires a change in our lives. But even as He rescues and restores our heart to Him, God also wants to work through us (despite our sin) to reach others and bring them closer to Him. Let that sink in.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Heknowsmyname permalink
    April 27, 2012 10:33 pm

    How many times have I been in that place!! Justifying my sinful actions and thoughts. And then, as soon as I finally decide to deal with it and find freedom from it, I find myself doing the same thing for something else! I wonder if I’ll ever be in a place that I don’t have some sort of sin in my life that I continue to try to keep for some reason or another. It absolutely takes being in the Word, prayer and time in the Presence of God to deal with these things. The closer and more intimate my relationship with my Father the more I despise the sin I allow in my life and any step outside of that relationship brings it back in…multiplied! He has called us to a place of Holiness, where we have to recognize our sin and the lies we’ve believed and we have to let it go. For many years I forgot that I was meant to be set apart and I compromised and lost heart and it has only been in His love and grace that I am being made whole. Good word Joel! Always love when you guys share! 🙂

    • April 28, 2012 9:54 am

      Thanks Stacey! Here’s to living for the Lord…living in holiness…to draw near let to him everyday!! It’s so worth it.

Leave a Reply

